Our little boy is 12…

I say this every year, but it’s just so hard to believe…

Is it possible that a dozen years ago, I would be driving to school in the morning, to celebrate with my class, only to drive to the hospital at the end of the school day, knowing that very soon my eyes would fall upon my firstborn, my son?

Austin Armstrong Conrad, you are a true gift to our family.  You are the one who gave me a new name.  Your birth was simply miraculous.  How humbling to be entrusted with the ultimate privilege and joy of motherhood.

As a baby, you loved to be entertained, held, and sang to.  As a toddler, you loved any outdoor adventure, nap time with Mom in the good ol’ car bed, lots of stovies (stories), and who could forget, not 1, not 2, but 3 pacifiers at one time.  Aren’t you glad I shared that?

You are a child who likes to observe life, always watching, taking it all in.  I never quite knew what words would emanate from the back of the van, but guaranteed you were my GPS before they were even invented.  You loved to giggle, especially with Dad.  You had to “work it out” during your first swim lesson as Mom wasn’t in sight.  You jumped into preschool and all it afforded to you, well, minus the writing requirements.  You were the best playmate with your sisters.

As school began, I heard words from others that are still spoken to this day – quiet leader, role model, accepting friend, calm constant.  Austin, this is who you are, and even more so, who you are in Christ.  I have thoroughly cherished our morning times this year.  I love listening to your first-morning thoughts, sharing breakfast and opening the Word together.  I loved hearing your chatter with your friends during the party tonight.  How abundantly you have been blessed in the diverse world of sixth grade friendships.  You are allowing God to shape you and mold you, to fall down and to get back up, to fail and to succeed, and to be refined in the hard, building your character for life.

If you haven’t had a chance to read the words, I believe divinely inspired, through Aaron’s gift of writing, click here to simply soak.  Fair warning, it could get emotional!

I love you Austin.  With all that I am and all that I have.  We celebrate your life today.  We remember the stories, we share in more laughter, and we eat some more cake.  Red velvet cake to be specific.  Happy Birthday my son!

Psalm 139:12-14

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

Leave a Reply

