He did it again!

As the Lord has opened my day schedule this week, and not knowing what the next few weeks may hold, I decided to check with some girlfriends as to their availability to spend some time together.  I’ve loved watching the week’s plans unfold.  Today’s adventure – lunch at a local favorite with my friend Amanda.

Amanda and I first got connected as our husbands met and realized their wives both enjoyed running.  Well, I say enjoy loosely.  We live in connected neighborhoods and attended the same church at the time.  I remember walking into the church office where she works, and asked for advice on my first race I was planning to participate in two weeks later.  I was nervous about the adventure.  She was calm.  She greeted me with the warmest smile and simply spoke words of encouragement and confidence.

Some time later, we began training together. And a wonderful friendship began.  Sweat and hard work will do that for ya.  We entered our first marathon in October of 2007, and we ran together the entire way, finishing in 4 hours and ten minutes.  It’s a day I’ll never forget.  In fact, in her wonderful way of gifting, a mutual friend of ours created an amazing scrapbook of our adventure.

And since then, we’ve entered and finished a dozen more races.  Time passes, family seasons change, and we can still meet and talk like we just saw one another the day before.  I do believe we’ll always have this friendship.  There are simply no words, no price, no amount of space here to express my gratitude for her and her family.

And so, we spent an hour catching up, and just as we were ready to head out, the owner approached our table.

Ladies, I know you were having a hard time deciding who was going to picking up the tab today.  I want to make it easy for you.  I appreciate your faithful business, plus I’m in a good mood.  Lunch is on me today.

And I stared at him.  Shocked.  And I just felt so compelled to say, “How did you know I’ve been praying to see God’s provisions in my life.  YOU are that provision today.”

And he stared back.

And he held up his fist for a fist bump.

And he walked away.

An ordinary man named Joe, doing an extraordinary act of kindness, being used by God without realizing the impact this would have on my day.  He had no clue my husband is currently unemployed.  He was unaware of this, my one story, in the middle of an ordinary day.  And with that, I received the gift of yet another provision today.  I had the privilege to see, and now the privilege to share.

Thank you Joe.

May you know the blessings I received in a way that is returned tenfold.  Just because that’s the way God is.

Deuteronomy 28:2
All these blessings will come on you and accompany you if you obey the LORD your God

One thought on “He did it again!

Leave a Reply

