An unexpected gift…

It was a mere 6 days since returning from Honduras.  I simply stopped by a friend’s house to pick up our son from a sleepover.  They had just welcomed into their home the sweetest looking golden retriever puppy ever on earth.  Really.  I had only viewed a picture via facebook, and had fallen in love with his sweet face.  I couldn’t wait to meet him.

And meet him, I did.  Sweet little Gus came bounding to the door, and I petted Him, and I listened to the story of his name.  It had been chosen even before meeting him with their own eyes.  She wasn’t sure if that’s the name he would come home with, and then they spoke his name to the breeder.  And the breeder paused.  Then spoke, “That was the name of his father.”

Wow.

And with that story, she hands me a bag.

Nothing fancy, just a plastic grocery bag, but what it contained was priceless.

Not for its earthly value, but almost its heavenly value.

You see, I had returned from Honduras with an almost-empty suitcase.  The Lord simply impressed it upon a few of us to leave our clothes there.  All of them.  After all, we were returning to closet full of more.  It was a joy to obey. Yet, I knew I’d need to purchase a few more shorts, mostly for running.

You know what I was gifted with? Yep.  Running shorts AND tank tops!  My dear friend Stephanie had no idea of this said need.  She has undergone unexpected knee surgery over the summer and simply had no use for them, and thought of me.  And then God.

And I stood speechless.

And God provided.

He always provides.

1 Timothy 6:17
Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment.

Little did I know that just three days later, God would be asking us to trust Him for His provision in a brand new way.  Unemployment.  And here we are.  With hope.  With joy.  With peace.  Our God still reigns.  And He is mighty to save.  And He still sits on His throne.  And He has plans to prosper us, not to harm us, plans for a hope and a future.  And we choose to stand on these promises.  And we love.  And we pray.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “An unexpected gift…

  1. What a story! Girl, you need to have a special place to record all of the provisions of God from August 15, 2012…could be a book some day:) The intro already has a great start! Love you friend!

Leave a Reply

