Vamos a la playa! (Let’s go to the beach!) – Honduras 2012

We had a chance to enjoy a fun day!  The land, sights, and sounds were breath-taking!  While standing, toes in the sand in Honduras, I could look to the right and see El Salvador, and look to the left and see Nicaragua.  Three countries, one view.  Unbelievable beauty.  So surreal.

To top it all off, the ocean water was warm, there was an ever-rolling gentle breeze, and the place we visited housed several hammocks!  Quite a piece of heaven.

Revelation 14:7
Worship him who made the heavens, the earth, the sea and the springs of water.”

First thing we did?  Made our mark.  Oh yeah, Rock City was here!  Good thing we did, because we didn’t see much more beach as soon the tide came in.

 

 

I just loved these kids.  Their big hearts carried so much of Christ with them wherever they went.  They worked hard, they played hard, I never once heard any complaints.  They were a joy to meet and simply hang with.

These ladies… so wise, so mature in leaning into God through crazy life circumstances, such hard workers and givers in ways so unique to their God-given personalities.  It is a pleasure and an honor to call you friends.

This father-son combo are an awesome duo.  They worked so hard on the construction sites.  They have a language all their own, forged through life circumstances and choices.  They love life, love each other, and care for the souls of others in a passionate way.  They are rock stars in my book!

Aren’t they a darling couple!  They will be married in November.  She came to Honduras on a mission trip, and little did she know how her life would change!  I can’t say enough about these two.  They have a faith that trusts God, in all circumstances, for all that He is, and all that He asks of them.  They put in full days, and accepted it joyfully.  His ability to communicate between two language is simply astounding.  Her love and support of him and the vision the Lord has given them to share is rock solid.  They have a beauty together that defies obstacles.  Christ is the center of their relationship, and they are building a life together, working in ministry, with Him.

We sat and broke bread together for lunch… well not quite bread, but fried fish.  Eyeballs and all!  And it was good… or so they tell me.  I have a seafood allergy, and I just wasn’t sure I should chance it.  God did protect me, and I’m so grateful.  He is a true Provider, and the food served was just perfect.  I absolutely loved sharing meal times together.  We ate.  We shared.  We laughed.  One big family.

And then, it was time to go.  To everything there is a season… and this was a life-changing one.  Honduras is a beautiful country.  Hondurans are beautiful people.  The privilege to go was nothing short of humbling.  We serve a Big God.  And He loves us all the same.  I am so thankful to have taken this journey with Him and his people.

Since returning, our life circumstances have changed.  My husband and I find ourselves entering a new season.  We have questions and no answered.  But the same God who “traveled” with me to Honduras is the same God who sits on His throne today.  Glory be to Him, who was, and is, and is to come.  He is my provider, He is faithful, and He is true.  Blessed be the name of the Lord!

Challenge:  If  life pulled the rug out from underneath you, where would you land?

4 thoughts on “Vamos a la playa! (Let’s go to the beach!) – Honduras 2012

  1. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I am hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own site now 😉

  2. hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical issues using this website,
    as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it
    to load correctly. I had been wondering if your
    hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

