Choluteca, Honduras – Mission Trip 2012

Wow.  That’s pretty much all I’ve been able to say for the past week.

I’ve wanted to write.

I’ve wanted to share.

And God continues His theme with me…

Live with me.  In this moment Heather.  Live.

And live we indeed did.  This picture is one Aaron snapped for us around 4:00am on a Saturday morning.  We look awake.  We look excited.  We awaited God’s plan to unfold.  And unfold it did!

When I look back on this picture, I see a group of people who simply shared a similar calling.  I now look at these people and call them life-long friends.

And God added to our number.

Upon flying to Houston, we met up with 10 people from Cedar Creek Church in Toledo, Ohio.  We boarded a plane with several other Mission groups as well, and landed in Tegucigalpa, Honduras where we were introduced to 6 young faces of teenagers on their trip serving as interpreters.  We were also greeted by a gentleman named Frank, and without much to-do, we followed like little ducks pulling suitcases on wheels to the bus that awaited our arrival.

The gentleman that traveled to greet us, kindly, and swiftly loaded our bags, gave us some water, and for the first time of many yet to come we boarded the bus.  The first time we boarded as strangers… never again would I use this word.

Cool story about this bus from the Grand Commission Church… one would say Cuyahoga County.  Yep, my hometown County in Cleveland, Ohio.  Someone actually drove that bus from northern Ohio, all the way to Choluteca, Honduras, and donated it!  Crazy.

Well, over the next 9 days, we would work with our hands (building camas (beds), and a table, painting a playground, moving dirt, sand, and cement blocks, pulling weeds, and building a roof).  We would share the gospel message with words spoken in love and arms used to wrap in hugs.  We would have a ton of fun.  We would grow in our faith as we saw lives lived out in passionate pursuit of Him.  But more than anything else, we took time to listen.  We listened to one another, we listened to those we visited, we listened to the One who drew us to a place outside of our familiar comfort zones.

In fact, it’s late in the evening as I type this.  There are many stories, mucho stories.  My hope and prayer is to share them.  Perhaps the Lord will afford me a few moments even yet tomorrow to invite you into the story of His amazing glory through His children of Honduras.  Yet tonight, God had a different plan for me.  You see, we’ve had a visitor at the Conrad home this summer.  It’s  been a joy and a pleasure to simply have time to spend with Bill Conrad, Aaron’s Dad.  Time, as I was reminded by this trip, is a gift.  And tonight, we took turns listening to one another.  That was the plan.  That was the gift.  So glad I didn’t miss it.

More to come, stay tuned.  Until next time…

John 10:27
My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Choluteca, Honduras – Mission Trip 2012

  1. Pingback: ¿Por qué la gringa se interesa en Honduras? « Stevi's Habitat

Leave a Reply

