Above and beyond…

The past 4 days can be described as nothing less than a gift.

We didn’t earn it, we definitely didn’t deserve it; it was simply dropped in our laps 2 weeks ago.

Aaron was told to attend a conference for work.  He was instructed that his wife could tag come along.  We gladly accepted.  Only expense was a plane ticket.

Destination – San Diego.

Conference/Hotel – The Del Coronado

I had heard about the beauty of San Diego, I even heard about this magnificent Historic Hotel, and I heard that this was rated the best beach in the country.

Nothing could quite prepare me for simply being in the presence of this magnificent location.

I had the gift of being an eye-witness.

And not only was their joy in the sights, sounds, smells, tastes, and touches, but it was who I was able to be in the presence of when I shared this experience.

In the early morning, my husband and I ran along the shoreline together.  I could tell you about what we saw, I could tell you about the feeling of a cool breeze on our faces, and the smell of the sea.  I could tell you about the songs that I heard, and the funny happenings of the experience (ahem, being approached by a policeman as I unknowingly ran on the military base).

I could tell you about the lady who stole our extremely large, entirely whole clam shell.  I could tell you about our extra guest who flew to the balcony to join us for breakfast.  I could tell you that the gold flecks in the sand that were nothing more than a glimpse of the gold in heaven’s streets.  But what I can’t quite fully describe is the way it felt to be connected in presence – to be present with both my earthly best friend and my Holy Heavenly Father simultaneously.  It was tangible, as if one were on my left while the other on my right.  Indescribable joy.

I could also tell you about the overwhelming sensation of peace while we were there.  Yes, circumstances as they were, I stepped out of the role and responsibility of motherhood for a bit, and was able to turn off part of my brain in a sense.  Yes, the opportunity to be served instead of to serve also played a factor.  But more than that, more than the delectable food, and the freedom from time constraints, I literally breathed in and breathed out.  That’s it.

I talked when the moment arrived.  I listened when the moment arrived.  I slept when the moment arrived.  I encouraged and thanked those serving when the moment arrived.  Life at it’s finest. Contentment.

And I just kept thinking about the fact that I never really asked for this.  Yes, my deep desire and longing is to SEE, and I do mean to travel.  My Lord knows this, but I didn’t EXPECT it.  I just kept thinking how this is above and beyond…

Ephesians 3:20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…

And my heart just burst – how much He wants to bless us!  How much He yearns for our hearts to remove this sense of entitlement to make room for a sheer state of gratitude.  And I looked around.  I took in all the earthly “wealth” before my eyes, and my heart broke again.  Do they know you my Jesus?  Do they know this love?  And I prayed…

Ephesians 1:18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe.

When recently have we sat in His presence?  When have we swam in His Word?  When have we warmed in the beauty of His creation, in the moments?

I was given an opportunity.  An opportunity has been granted to you.  Today.  It’s yours.  Receive it.  Cast away all doubt.  Roll around in the joy. Let’s its rays of peace soak into you as the gentle, cool breeze whirls around you.  You don’t need an ocean.  You just need Him.

The beauty of all He is…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Above and beyond…

  1. We are a big fan of San Diego, and when we visited we stopped by to see this hotel while we were there, its quite a place. I’m really glad you both got to share this experience!

Leave a Reply

