The smoothing process…

Every time I am gifted with an opportunity to visit a beach, I usually find myself looking down. Ever get mesmorized my one of God’s creations? Mine are shells. As I walked along the shore today, I found myself walking briskly at first. I really didn’t see anything in particular that caught my eye. And then… Something did.

Gold.

Flecks of gold.

Breathtaking.

And then, I started to see more. I noticed more and more shells. I started walking slower. I started seeing and wondering, and thinking.

I wonder what the journey of this shell has been like? I wonder how many times it had been rolled and roughed up over sand and waves, again and again.

I wonder how it made it to shore. Whole and complete.

I wonder how many times I have resisted being roughed up, bitter edges sanded, prideful heart buffed? I wonder what would happen if I allowed my ugly edges to be sanded by the process of refinement. Would I wash up on shore, whole and complete?

Some of the wise will stumble, so that they may be refined, purified and made spotless until the time of the end, for it will still come at the appointed time. (Daniel 11:35 NIV)

Lord, you tell me I am whole and complete in you. My sins have been washed and I am made new. Help me to continue to embrace this smoothing process of refinement. For it is this gritty process that I can be set free. Free of the entanglements. Free of the burdens of self. Free to shine you in a natural way. Natural because it’s the way you created us to be. The way we want to be. The way, because we are close to The Way.

Thanks for the reminder today. I love you. Continue to refine me until I walk the streets of true gold.

4 thoughts on “The smoothing process…

  1. Good Morning to you Heather!
    I love how in reflection, we see the refining work He has already done in us! And the best part is… HE’s not finished yet! Thanks for sharing sister! ~ Blessings out, Amy Alves

    • Amen sista! Learning to embrace the process instead of repel it is the greatest lesson I’ve learned. Thanks for stopping by! I enjoy “sharing” life with you.

Leave a Reply

