God’s Good Gifts

Bible Study.  What feelings do these two words evoke?  Fear, apprehension, indifference, excitement?  Have you ever been given an opportunity to be involved?  What could be holding you back today?  Bad past experiences, no room in the schedule, no particular interest? No matter where you are in the spectrum of emotion or circumstances, if I may be bold enough to challenge you, you can’t afford NOT to attend.  Doesn’t matter where, or when, or how, His word is life.

Literally.

If a friend had a medical issue that needed attending to, and he/she was refusing treatment, you would not be so quick as to let time slip without prompting, if not urgent prompting, right?

What about heart treatment?  What about spiritual surgery?  What about eternal security?

I, for one, CAN. NOT. wait for this next study He has on tap for myself and a few friends.  The book of James!  One of my favorites!  Because it’s an easy read? Ah, no.  Because it challenges the socks off of me.  It forces me to look at my “ugly”.  It dredges up the mud in my heart so I can examine it, bring it from my dark recesses into His light.  I will do this knowing and wanting Him to show me, clean me, cleanse me, make me new!  I get an awesome hot shower  with lots of steam!  Sound good?

As with so many things the Lord brings my way, He leaves trails of reminders, a magnetic post-it, if you will.  Picked up a Max Lucado book and this is what I read.

James 1:17 – Every good action and every perfect gift is from God.

Ever feel like you have nothing?  Just look at the gifts God has given you:

He has sent His angels to care for you, His Holy Spirit to dwell in you, his church to encourage you, and His word to guide you…

Anytime you speak, He listens; make a request and He responds.

He will never let you be tempted too much, or stumble too far.

Let a tear appear on your cheek, and He is there to wipe it.

Let a love sonnet appear on your lips, and He is there to hear it.

As much as you want to see Him, He wants to see you more…

You have been chosen by Christ.  He has claimed you as His beloved.

Such a great reminder!  I simply can’t wait to dig in!  Don’t be afraid. Don’t be indifferent.  Do it.  Click that browser and search with a passion.  I figure, if we can spend time being nosy about what’s going on in our friends lives’ on-line, why not search with an even greater passion for what’s going on in learning more about our God, Our Creator, Our Father, Our Redeemer, and Our Friend!  We can’t afford not to!  Our lives, our family, our community are waiting for us to live out our God-given purposes.  It happens by learning and falling in love with the One who crafted our purposes in the first place.

Do it. Share it. Live it.

One thought on “God’s Good Gifts

Leave a Reply

