How can we know it’s God speaking?

 

Had the extreme privilege of listening to a message.   As two girlfriends and I huddled around a basement computer screen, two God-seeking, God-fearing women of the King said “yes” to God.  God had a task for them, and in their spoken weakness, they shared His message in their uniquely-gifted way, embracing fears and inspiring their listeners.  Lysa Terkeurt and Ann Voscamp shared and God spoke.

If you are reading this today, I encourage you to jump over to Lysa’s site where you can watch this same webcast that will be available all day today until mid-night.  It’s an hour session.  Feel free to have an avenue to “take notes”, whichever way works for you.  It will be time well spent!

While there are several tidbits still ruminating in my mind and thoughts, what I wanted to share with you today was a list.  My friend Rachel has a great perspective on this “list” concept as well, take a moment to check out here thoughts as well.

The question posed to Lysa was this:  How can I know I’m hearing God’s voice?  She shares,

1.  Is it consistent with God’s Word?

2.  Is it consistent with God’s character?  (Galatians 5)

3.  Is it consistent with other messages I’m hearing?

4.  Is this beyond me?

5.  Will God be pleased?

This can be a little perplexing.  After all, if we desire to say Yes to God, we have to be able to discern His voice speaking to us.  I also know that early in my relationship with Christ, this whole idea simply weird-ed me out.  The Voice of God seemed oh so scary, and a little bit whack, to be honest.  A good comparison I had heard was the thought of simply recognizing a familiar human voice.  In close relationships, you just know.  Whether a spouse, a close friend, or even family member, you’ve spent time with them, you would know their voice from another room.  It’s something that I can now understand in my relationship with Jesus.  I recognize Him, His ways, his unique way of speaking just to me, not necessarily in an audible fashion, but in that quiet thought, almost a whisper that enters into my thoughts, and sinks into my heart.  I know.

How about you?  On a scale of 1 – 10, 1 meaning the luney-bin, and 10 meaning walking-on-water, where do you fall in your ability to discern His voice?

Personally, my scale fluctuates.  Most days I can be mostly-confident, other days doubt threatens to pull me to a lower number.  This list is such a great re-focus-er, or perhaps a solid rock instead of shifting sand to stand on.  In viewing this again, I poorly hand-scratched the list and posted it next to my calendar on the refrigerator.  I DO want to be a woman who says yes to God.  It comes from spending time with Him and knowing Him.  Again, this deepens my trust and helps me to stands firm in my belief because, I don’t know about you, but during the day I battle.

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.   Ephesians 6:12

Take heart, you are not alone.  God has great plans in store for you!

Leave a Reply

