Looking at the horizon…

Now faith is the reality of what is hoped for, the proof of what is not seen. For by it, our ancestors were approved… Now, without faith it is impossible to please God, for the one who draws near to Him must believe that He exists and rewards those who seek him.      Hebrews 11:1-2, 6

My husband and I spent the weekend together, in a different city.  We’ve prayed for wisdom, discernment, and direction in the provision of a work position.  We’ve also prayed for open doors, with the decision to take those steps until the door is closed.

This weekend, the reality of these statements hit me.  While the dreams and thoughts of the what-ifs left me giddy, the reality of the true consequences were viewed with human eyes.  I felt something I wasn’t quite ready for.  I felt fear.  I felt it to my core.

That being recognized, called out, and even stated out loud to another (that accountability thing), I had some choices.  I could allow that fear to take root.  I could allow the anxiety, worry, and dread to filter my rational mindset and leave me with either a state of paralysis or the flight syndrome.  OR, I could recognize that emotion for what it is, a temporary emotion, and I could open my thoughts to the reality of His truth.

Perfect love casts out all fear.

Be strong and courageous.

Do not fear.

The truth is, I don’t have to have it all figured out to then acquire the peace I seek.  He doesn’t ask me to do that.  He simply asks me to trust Him.  To take one step, not 50.  He asks me to believe in His love and His plans for me, no matter what they include.  He’s asking me to draw near, and to have faith… faith even as small as a mustard seed.

He had a message for me through the pastor.  Which, in fact, I heard three times last Sunday.  Yes, I can be a little dense.

God is more interested in who you’re becoming, than where you’re going.

Yep.  Character.  The Conrad family is looking at the beautiful horizon of our future, and together we will daily lay it at His feet.  I’m so proud of Aaron.  I witnessed his gifts in a new way this weekend.  I admire him for His faith.  God is rewarding him with peace beyond our understanding.  Our story continues to be written.  It’s going to be a good story, no matter the next chapter.  It’s good because He tells me it’s already written, His plans for us are good, and He is pleased.

What are your eyes straining to see on your horizon?

6 thoughts on “Looking at the horizon…

  1. Love this post, Heather. I was just thinking about this same thing this morning while I was running. It was really foggy and at one part all I could only see about 25 ft in front of me and then it was just fog and the light from the sun behind it. It was a really vivid picture to me too about how it’s the same way with how God directs our steps and asks us to trust Him…with each step, the fog cleared just enough for me to see the next part of the road in front of me. Praying for you guys and each next step as the fog clears and you see what He has in store each day.

  2. Thanks for writing Susan. I’ve experienced a similar setting, and it rocked me too. Sheds ‘light’ on the words, thy word is a lamp unto my feet, just enough to take the next few steps. Good thing too, we might not be able to handle the big picture all at once, better to trust. Have a great day!

  3. Sounds like you’re seeking Him Jason. That’s the best thing, really all I think He wants. Funny, I didn’t think much about this post. Guess that’s when He works best. Praying for you and your family.

  4. Heather,
    It is as if you saw into my mind and wrote exactly what I was praying for discernment on. I too am facing a huge crossroads but have NO DOUBT that God will direct me and my family on the path He has chosen for us. But, even though I believe that, it is still nice to to know that all that fear I have had, He knows it and He has already laid the path–we just need to listen and follow:) Thanks for saying what I have needed to hear tonight~

Leave a Reply

