Gifts, something received, not earned

It’s not often that you hear the discussion of gifts.  Perhaps one doesn’t want to come across as braggart, perhaps we feel like we deserved something and therefore do not view it as gift, perhaps we’ve been given gifts and we don’t even see them as a gift in and of itself.  Admittedly, I place myself in each one of those categories.

Today, I’m breaking free.  This week I’ve been the recipient of some amazing, unique gifts.  I haven’t earned, them, I don’t deserve them, I’m not even entitled to them.  I do believe I’ve been asked to do one thing, simply receive them.  And in receiving them, my heart overspills with gratitude from the one who created it all, and whatever His divine reason, He chose to bless.  Lord, I thank you.

Next week, Aaron and I have an amazing opportunity to fly to New York City to see the premier of the movie, Soul Surfer.  Thanks to the amazing Team Buzz Plant, my husband and I get to enjoy a trip together, to a place I’ve never seen, to be surrounded by people called to share about His work in the lives of His children… all for free.  I could go on and on about His provisions to even allow this as a possibly.  It is a gift.

At the end of April, Aron and I get to enjoy another adventure together – a half-marathon run in Nashville, TN.  Up until last week, this wasn’t a possibility.  Now, it’s a reality.  Again, provision after provision.  It’s a gift.

Just yesterday, we were able to reserve a beach house for the end of June at our favorite place, Outer Banks Beach.  My parents can join us.  Perhaps my sister and her husband can join us.  Provision after provision (see a trend here), an unexpected surprise in a change of house – even better, even more.  Such a gift.

James 1:17
Every good and perfect gift is from above…

Ephesians 3:20-21 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Lord, I struggle with finding the words to simply say – thank you.  The work you have done in my heart in the past few years is nothing short of a miracle.  I “see” things so differently now.  I clearly see more of what I have, instead of what I don’t have.  My sense of entitlement has changed into one of, “I really don’t deserve any of this Lord.”  As you listened to me and allowed my heart to let go of any get-away trips this year, that’s when you turned and blessed.  Pretty amazing, YOU’RE pretty amazing. Thank you for the gift of today.

One thought on “Gifts, something received, not earned

  1. And a Takamine EF341SC shows up on your doorstep after a cancelled order from 3 months ago, the same day you post about gifts…. Can’t wait until next week. It is such a blessing.

Leave a Reply

