Book Review

A promise.  Perhaps this word initiates a response of scoffing.  Why?  We, as humans, break promises frequently.  It’s human nature to want a sure thing and for someone to back up the certainties, guarantees, no questions asked, unfortunately, we can’t always count on it from one another.  How does this transfer over to our relationship with God?

Sheila Walsh writes, “Do failure, disappointments and regrets keep us questioning if God’s promises hold fast when everything else is falling apart?  This is the shelter of God’s promises:  God not only keeps His promises, but He longs to keep us in them.  God’s promises are as dependable as He is.  Because they are Him.  We have to separate promises that my never be kept from God’s promises, which will never be broken.  God keeps us not only to give us a future, but also to reflect His glory.  He keeps His promises to us because He cannot help Himself.  Whatever God says, we cans take our live on.”

If you look to your circumstances alone, it may seem that God has forgotten you.  But He hasn’t.  He can’t.  And He wouldn’t even if He could.  God is the only promise maker who is always a promise keeper.  And God’s promises will never fail you!

For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ.  And so through Him the “Amen” is spoken to us by the glory of God.  2 Corinthians 1:20

Gifted Bible teacher and inspiring Women of Faith speaker Sheila Walsh searches scripture for what God’s promises mean, and how encounters with Christ are the eternal fulfillment of His unrelenting commitment to us.  She focuses in on 10 promises and walks the reader through the truth, helping to dispel some lies and falsehood we may have come to claim.  She looks at promises (I need something to hold onto), provision (I don’t have enough), peace (I’m afraid and feel alone), confidence (I can’t see God’s plan in this pain), love (I don’t believe that anyone could really love me), grace (I have failed), hope (I’m broken), strength (I feel things are crashing around me), more (I know there’s something better), and home (I have a future).

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  God simply filled me up with His truth in such an empowering fashion that I felt strengthened, encouraged, and even laughed along with Sheila in her masterful story-telling abilities.  I would highly recommend this book, great for individual use and with a group.  It includes a bible study in the back, and also gives you information on the DVD-based bible study and participant’s guide available as well.  If you hesitate, you might just miss out on what God has in store for you.  Enjoy!

One thought on “Book Review

Leave a Reply

