A blast from the past…

Enjoyed a great family evening tonight.  Columbus hosted Winter Jam in our town, a concert put on by Christian artists from all over the country.  With tickets just $10 at the door, the place was packed!  We have some dear friends with access to a suite (and even special parking, what a treat!), and so, we packed our van and headed off for an evening of loud music and dancing!

What a special evening to share in this together.  Aaron certainly introduces music into our household on a daily basis, it simply does a beautiful, melodic job of carrying meaning, and even memories for that matter.  At one point during the concert, our middle child found her way into my lap, well, spilled over my lap for that matter, but oh my heart enjoyed it.  One of my favorite treasured moments was rocking my children when they were young (just ask the youngest, I still try to steal one when I can).  As we swayed to the music, my mind slowly unfolded a memory… so real and alive, it was as if it was happening simultaneously with the present.  I no longer was the adult rocking, I was the child being rocked…

We lived in a 3 bedroom ranch home in the seventies.  I remember brown shag carpet, a large picture of a tree, and a record playing stereo.  It’s night time, and the lights are turned down.  There is soft music playing in the background, and I’m being led by hand to a rocking chair pulled into the center of the room.  My Father sits down, and gently pulls me onto his lap, where my head rests on his shoulder.  He tenderly holds me, whispers softly in my ear, gently rubs my back, and holds me close.  Back and forth to the music.  The safety of his arms, the warmth of his touch, the beat of his heart, the sounds of his voice.  I couldn’t put it into words, but I knew.  I knew that I was safe.  I knew that I was loved.  My soul was at rest.  Perfect peace.  And then, I would fall asleep…

The Lord, is His divine sovereignty, saw fit to give me a picture of this powerful love at such a young age.  Nothing I can say I deserved, simply His plan.  I wonder why he drew my attention and heightened my sensed to this very special time?  Could it be that He wanted to remind me of how my Heavenly Father longs for me to crawl into his lap?  Could it be that He was singing lullabies just to me tonight, whispering and reminding me that in His arms lies safety, lies peace, brings the indescribable sense of His love?  How I cherished the moments of holding my child in this way, how much more does He cherish the times I come to Him to find rest?

Matthew 11:28
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Often times we think of rest when things are settled in our days, or in our life for that matter.  Not so the case for Peter.  Here, In Acts 12, we find him… in jail.

6 The night before Herod was to bring him to trial, Peter was sleeping between two soldiers, bound with two chains, and sentries stood guard at the entrance.

Today, right at this moment, your Heavenly Father loves you.  He sits in his Heavenly rocking chair and beacons you.  Can you hear Him?  Have you distanced yourself to the point where life has drowned out that still small voice?  It’s okay.  You’re never too far away.  The Bible says there is no where we can run or hide from God (Romans 8).  The Lord says there is rejoicing in heaven whenever a child turns to Him.  Today’s the day.  No matter where you find yourself, his lap is always available.  Rock to your hearts content!  Have a fabulous Sunday in worship of His Holy Name.

Leave a Reply

