My daughter and I…

On Thanksgiving morning, Aaron, Austin, Emma and I embarked on a new journey.  At 8:00 am, we pulled out of the driveway, along with our friends Richard and Heidi to take on a 4mile course, entitled the Flying Feather.  Thanks to their daughter, little Brynn well enjoyed her morning at home.  Words cannot describe the race…

The picture here was taken at the end of the race.  Can you see my precious daughter’s determination?  She remained steady and strong… the entire course.  She had set her mind on the race, and she not only finished well, but she finished strong.  Sheer joy, sheer delight, I even love how the picture captures our ponytails swishing!

3 John 1:4
I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.

1 Corinthians 9:24
Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.

My favorite memories include talking to Emma (with purposes of distraction), encouraging her with words of praise, guiding her as to the next “mile marker”, really… just being by her side.  What a privilege to watch her grow, in beauty and in grace.  Such a treasure.  Such a gift.  I can hear my heavenly Father whispering the same words…

What a joy to watch my boys run as well.  They look a different approach, just a bit less serious.  Again, pictures tell a thousand words…

What a joy to finish together… what a joy to simply be a family.  Enjoy yours today!

3 thoughts on “My daughter and I…

  1. I admire people who run…especially little people who run. With smiles on their faces. Your sweet words of encouragement to your daughter remind me of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

