Dying a little more every day…

Read a post over at (in)courage today, and it got me thinking…

In the past few weeks, I had experienced what can only be described as death of a dream.  The door that led to an opportunity to enter back into my career field had been shut.  I was perplexed, confused, and very disappointed.  I felt heavy, I experienced emotions, I grieved.  And then…

my perspective shifted.

This “death” I experienced wasn’t an ending.  In fact, it was a beginning.

John 12:24
Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.

What happens after a seed dies?  New life springs up, blooms, grows, and even multiples.  So true!  It’s happening in my life right at this moment… and I could have missed it, had I held onto my seed.  What happens if I hold tightly to a seed in my hand?  No new life, no blooms, no growth, just the potential of a seed, and all the will power I can muster.

What if I let go of my seeds, deposited them in the dark soil, watched and waited for the Son and the Living Water to call them to life?  I would be letting go, but I would be gaining what?  I guess the real question is… do I want seeds or fruit? Do I want hope or harvest?  Do I want dreams or life?  Will I allow God to redeem my dreams, perhaps in a different, yet better way?

Are you holding tight to your life?  Dying literally is not optional.  One day we will all draw our last breath.  Dying spiritually, on the other hand, is a choice.  Will you choose to seek His guidance about your dreams? future? marriage? kids? finances? health? happiness?

Romans 6:4
We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

All I can tell you is that letting go has been worth it’s weight in gold, every time.  What do you have to lose?

One thought on “Dying a little more every day…

  1. Such wisdom from above. Love the word picture of holding the seeds in your hand, so true! God is in the dream redemption business my dear friend. Can’t wait to continue seeing what He fashions from yours!

Leave a Reply

