Shine your light and, let the whole world see…

 Enjoyed such a delightful time of discussion with some ladies this morning during Bible Study Fellowship!  We talked a bit about darkness and light, one of my favorite topics.  As usual, God picks up His paintbrush and continues to add to the pictures He’s working on my life.  Through ladies of all ages today, he truly shed some more “light” on a picture He shared with me several years ago.

As we talked about which “path” we choose in our life, a path of chosen darkness or one of light, my heart paused and asked a question.  Where lies the “control room” for our decisions?  Our first thought may quickly compute, our mind, but I dare to venture in answering our “hearts”.  If we take a gander in there, often times we chose darkness because of a root of pride.  We think we know better and our desires and behaviors follow suit.

In thinking of our hearts as our homes, I picture an actual house.  If it’s dark outside (dark meaning the absence of light), if one would be looking “in” to our house, what would they see?  Well, they would only see the parts that were lit up, or had the light on.  If a light is on, we can see everything going on in that room.  If a particular room, or closet, or some other area is dark, no light shines forth, it is hidden to the human eye.  If God were to look at all the lights in my “house”, what would I hear Him say? 

Heather, looks like we got some cleaning to do?  Come, let me help you.  Bring your messes into my light.  I can help you see that what you’re hiding is not as horrible as it may seem.  I want you to be free of your shame and your guilt.  Will you turn your light on, and let the whole world see?

Gulp.

Well, something within me rose to this gentle leading in my life.  I’m here to tell you… I stand in freedoms I never thought were even possible.  As far as I’m aware (and I continue to pray for the Lord to show me), he has helped me clean house in all my rooms.  I stand with arms wide open, in full “wattage”, simply allowing the Light in me to pour forth.  It’s as natural as breathing.  Now, don’t get me wrong, my windows get smeared every day.  It takes a daily dosage of Windex for the transparency to continue, but my heart is willing, and that’s all He asks for.

Will you allow Him to help you clean house today?  What room has been left unattended for far too long?  What holds you back from flipping the switch?  Stare at that fear head-on.  Call it out.  Talk it out.  Take that step.  Pick up that duster.  Open that door, and simply “Do It” my friend.  You will never regret it.  Happy trick-or-treating!

1 John 1:5-7 

 5This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all. 6If we claim to have fellowship with him yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not live by the truth. 7But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all[a] sin.

Been singin this song all day…

4 thoughts on “Shine your light and, let the whole world see…

  1. Beautiful post! love the title. Love your writing and love the song… and love our Savior who brings light to the darkness and truth that frees us! This has been my favorite topic as well lately!!!

  2. i too was touched by the light. Thru my own studies and BSF hear Him say Sarra let me shine my light and clean out this room and Praise God I am being obedient to this calling. Thank you for sharing your heart dear sister!

  3. Awesome to hear my friends! Amazing how His message transcends time and distance to share this journey with sisters for “such a time as this”. Keep persuing girls, at times I feel the ride has just begun.

Leave a Reply

