The will to run…

Well, the boys headed off this evening for a fun night at the Cavs game.  As I’m sure Aaron will post, Austin and his friend actually had a chance to be ball boys tonight, very cool…  So, the girls and I headed off to a movie.  I so enjoy date nights.  I love planning them, I love creating special memories, I love the time together – why not a movie about a horse?  It’s one I had heard about.  One that received high reviews.  One that was family friendly.  One I was super-excited to see… Secretariat.

Wow.  What an amazing story.  What a wonderful, heart-felt film about the will to persist in the race, or calling, in this thing called life.  What an amazing opening.  These were the first words spoken… from Job 39:

 19 “Do you give the horse his strength
       or clothe his neck with a flowing mane?

 20 Do you make him leap like a locust,
       striking terror with his proud snorting?

 21 He paws fiercely, rejoicing in his strength,
       and charges into the fray.

 22 He laughs at fear, afraid of nothing;
       he does not shy away from the sword.

 23 The quiver rattles against his side,
       along with the flashing spear and lance.

 24 In frenzied excitement he eats up the ground;
       he cannot stand still when the trumpet sounds.

Scripture!  Not something you hear from Hollywood everyday!  It set the stage perfectly.  I couldn’t help but glance at the girls as the story unfolded.  One woman saw something special about the “possibilities” of one colt, and her unwavering believe, despite all the odds, made history.  Literally, a record not broken for thirty- some years now.  The love, the devotion, the tenacity of one to another.  This allowed the horse to run his race… and win.

As I walked out of the theater, two little hands in mine, one on each side, I couldn’t help but think both backwards and forwards.  I glanced back to Saturday, in remembering the races each of the kids participated in thanks to Ringling Brothers.  Each shared the same start line, each shared the same finish line, yet each had their own distance to run.  Several children darted straight forward, fast and furious, and without prior knowledge of a pace, their little bodies wore out.  Our children… steady and sure.  What a proud moment.  They each celebrated their finish, yet more than anything, this was a great opportunity to believe in them, to encourage them, and to pour unconditional love, simply for their best efforts.  In this run of life, I pray that they may know the One who “sees” their potential, the One who created them.  I pray they may fall in love with the One who loves them more than even I do, for before too long, their time at home with me will come to an end, His kingdom shall have no end.  I may not always be able to be there, He is.  I have been given a great treasure in the gifts of my children, but ultimately, they are His.  I thank you for the reminder today of just how thankful I am to expereince this will to run.  May I always run after you my Lord…

Leave a Reply

