A surprising thought…

Giving credit where credit is due, I have truly enjoyed my daily reading time, thanks to Him.  I have attempted several times to read His word daily for a year, but somewhere along the way, I fell off the mark.  In reflection, I fell off because my heart wasn’t in the right place.  I thought it would be something good for me, as a Christian I felt that I “should” be reading (more of a dutified heart), but ultimately I wanted to complete the task in my own strength… of course I missed the mark.  Reading for the enjoyment, to have a teachable attitude, and to simply sit in “awe” of the inexhaustible revelations, lessons, and connections to be learned, I came across this today…

Mark 1:30-31 (NLT)

30 Now Simon’s mother-in-law was sick in bed with a high fever. They told Jesus about her right away. 31 So he went to her bedside, took her by the hand, and helped her sit up. Then the fever left her, and she prepared a meal for them.

As I’m reading the passages in chronological order (very cool), I also read the similar verses in two other gospels:

Matthew 8:14-15 

 14 When Jesus arrived at Peter’s house, Peter’s mother-in-law was sick in bed with a high fever. 15 But when Jesus touched her hand, the fever left her. Then she got up and prepared a meal for him.

Luke 4:38-39 

 38 After leaving the synagogue that day, Jesus went to Simon’s home, where he found Simon’s mother-in-law very sick with a high fever. “Please heal her,” everyone begged. 39 Standing at her bedside, he rebuked the fever, and it left her. And she got up at once and prepared a meal for them.

At first appearance, something small.  Simon’s mother-in-law was sick with a fever, Jesus touches her (rebukes the sickness to leave), and she is healed.  Perhaps we can recall several instances of Jesus healing, yeah, yeah, this and that, yet do we pause and think about the actual miracle of a sickness literally being taken away – healing, made whole, restoration.  The part that hit me today was how Peter’s mother-in-law responded.  How would you respond?

When we’re sick in bed, what are our emotions, what are our thoughts?  Do we lay and lament, creating a list of all the things we cannot be accomplishing at the moment?  Do we have a pity party and asked to be served?  Do we desperately beg to be free of the pain?  Do we even make deals with God?  What is our example in these verses?  It says she got up at once and prepared a meal for “them”, plural.  No details of weakness, which I’m sure she experienced.  No account of whining, complaining, or excuses.  She simply arose and got to serving.  Maybe even something she desperately wanted to accomplish for her house guests, grateful for a chance to be hospitable.  Such a great reminder for me today.  No excuses.

If I have breath, if I am able, serve with a grateful heart. 

What has He reminded you of today?

Leave a Reply

