A glimpse…

I received a simply beautiful gift the other day.  In a seemingly ordinary event, I got a glimpse of my daughters… as my friends, it was precious.  You see… we were shopping.  Now, shopping for me, doesn’t bring me all that much excitement.  I’m a focused shopper, know what I need, get in, get out, moving on.  AND, what better incentive for me than to receive the highly sought after 30% off pull-off tap on the monthly Kohl’s magazine – whoohoo!  The kids need new jeans… here we come.

Turned out to be a family affair.  The boys headed one way and the girls headed the other.  Well, on the way to the girls section, we happened to pass by the purses.  Now, like I said, practical person, and mom at that, I have a practical purse.  It’s functional, it’s big, it’s well used.  On a whim, we “pulled” over to take a gander.  My practical flares are just about to burst, when I hear the girls comments and stand in awe, “oooo Mommy look at this one!”  “What do you think about this one?”  “I like this color.”  “This one has lots of pockets.”  “You should get this one Mom!”  Such beautiful music.  No whining, no complaining, no me-first, no when-is-it-my-turn, just simple excitement and encouragement to make a purchase for Mom. 

Well, I thanked them for their kind hearts, and told them perhaps we could come back.  We then headed to their area with the task of looking for jeans and maybe a new long-sleeved shirt.  They each looked quickly, chose a few, tried them on, made some decisions, were happy and even thankful.  Nothing stops me faster in my tracks than simply watching their hearts shine forth with the fruits of the spirit – love, joy, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control.  For this, I simply thank the One who so graciously gifts.  It was my pleasure to shower them with praise!  I’ll take this moment, thank you and have a great day!

BUT, on our way to the register, wouldn’t you know that lil’ Miss Emma, would not let me forget about our prior purse perusing.  She was both persuasive and persistent, so I decided to make the purchase (at a great price!)  I must say I love it, she even helped me “get it all set”.  For a moment, I got a glimpse… my daughters, my friends.  They treated me with wisdom beyond their years, they loved me with an unselfish love, I am so thankful for the chance to be a part of their lives.  Mommy loves you girls!

Leave a Reply

