How do you say goodbye?

I have a friend.  She and I met about 6 1/2 years ago.  It happened to be a brief encounter, not much in the way of exchanging words…yet there was just something there…couldn’t label it, place my finger on it, or even give you details, it was just a gut-thing…

Ever reflect back on the way a friendship began?  We don’t do that often do we?  I wonder why…

How often is it that we find ourselves nearing an “end”, only to then reflect back to remember…

Do you find yourself simply reflecting back over the summer as it nears an end?

To quote my bloggie-friend Emily,

“Goodbyes are not my favorite.  Because if I linger too long in the endings, it makes it harder for me to transition to the beginnings.”

I find the same to be true for me.  You see, my dear friend is moving away… in 5 days.  And here I sit…reflecting.

I have simply come to the conclusion that when pushed to face a new difficult task, in light of knowing the flight or flight scenarios… I choose flight.  I know me, I get stuck, I grip, I freeze, I want time to stand still and everything to remain as it was, predictable, dependable, safe.  That’s my childlike ways.  My adult side-of-the brain (as small as it is, at some point along the way), tells my inner-child that I am super excited to watch this journey in their lives unfold, the new adventures, the new relationships, ultimately His will in their lives.  I am happy for them…

And yet…  I keep reliving all our “markers” –  times of laughter, times of joy, times of reward through some struggles, times of growth, time of sharing, times of help, times of understanding, times of acceptance, times with food…  The gift of friendship is truly amazing, especially when you take the risk of allowing a person to see all the way through to you inner-most corners, you know, the ones that are dusty, dirty, moldy, well…you get the picture.  Perhaps this person is even so different from yourself that they inspire you to simply be a better you.  A relationship that goes beyond a simple compatibility match, a bond that only the Lord can glue together.  It is at this moment, that I feel left with 2 simple words… thank you.

Thank you Jesus for the gift of my friend Jen.  Thank you for these precious young-child-raising, God-seeking-and-serving years together.  I know it’s time for me to watch you move her to a place that is ripe for the harvest.  I celebrate that with you my Jesus, so proud of their hearts for you.  Yet, I would not be completely honest if I did not admit a bit of sadness.  Jesus, I give this to you too.  I realize we were not meant to know about separation or death, that this is but my temporary home, and I just thank you that you placed me in a time of marvelous technology!  Ways to stay in touch are simply fabulous.  It affords me hope, and peace, and even joy.  I choose these.  Lord, bless this family.  Thank you for the chance of even knowing them for such a time as this.  Amen.

Ecclesiastes 3

A Time for Everything

 1 There is a time for everything,
       and a season for every activity under heaven:

 2 a time to be born and a time to die,
       a time to plant and a time to uproot

Leave a Reply

