Give me your eyes for just one second…

The concept that keeps reverberating in my soul this week… eyes to see.

How do I know?  Well… I began to process through my previous post, I find myself in coversations with other friends who I haven’t even shared this with, He has scripture verses sent to me through email, AND He has me open a  book to read about this same concept that He’s impressed upon the heart of author, originally written nine years ago.  Coincidence, I think not.  Out of the heart of my pastor this morning came the word, “God-cidences.”

I had the amazing privilege of meeting a tender warrior of His in North Carolina.  She’s a mom, an author, a speaker, she would say, “just an ordinary woman”, and she uses His extraordinary gifts for him in extraordinary ways.  Her name is Angela Thomas.  In light of my Amazing God, I just wanted to take a moment to share a few thoughts that He wrote across the pages of this book… because Angela said, “Yes, Lord. I will obey.”

After sharing a story of receiving glasses for her first-grade daughter, the Lord whispers, “Angela, there is so much more to this life, but your eyesight is blurry.  You think you see clearly (as in before glasses), but without spiritual eyes to see, you will miss the blessings.  You will grope around in the dark searching for My will in your life.  You will miss the beauty I have created.  You will miss your purpose.  You will miss the strength that comes from my power.  You will miss the joy of seeing my glory.”

She goes on to share that perhaps, in this season, our vision has become blurred, life is out of focus, and we are squinting just to get through the day, hanging on  until we can fall into bed.  I am right there with you, but I absolutely refuse to settle for a shadowy version of the life God intended.  I believe that it is the Lord’s great desire to give us eyes to see.  I believe that He is calling us to fall into His everlasting arms and rest in His compassionate mercy.  I believe that He is shouting to us that we cannot possibly live this life apart from His power and His presence.  I believe that He is saying, “I am here. Hold out your cup and enjoy My love for you.”

I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe.  Ephesians 1:18-19

Finally, she shares about that concept that our soul cannot function as intended apart from the divine and supernatural indwelling of God.  Most of the time, my spirit is the fragrance of my soul – the indicator of how things are going.  Am I full of the presence of Christ and acting out of a righteous place, or am I walking in my own strength, flawed, and separated from my Lord?  My spirit always tells the truth.

As a Mom, I don’t always have eyes to see because I have committed all my energies, all my love, all my devotion, and all my vision to everyone except Jesus.  In doing so, it seemed noble, righteous, servant like, humble, and almost saintly to give to the brink of exhaustion.  Perhaps it was my fear of finding out how spiritually empty I had become that kept me silent.  I had become a professional pretender, overcompensating for the lack of intimacy with my Father.  Call it, spiritual squinting.  But God.. loves us so much, He wants to improve our vision.  He wants to give us eyes to see.

Just this morning, I literally forced myself out of bed, before more excuses rolled out.  I laced up my shoes, and I hit the road.  Through obedience, he gave me eyes to see… a dream He has placed in my heart, a vision unfolded…and it was beautiful.  He wants to bless, is waiting for me to admit my deep need and surrender to Him.  His pursuit is relentless, his invitation always stands, He is already working, ad He loves you more than you can imagine.

Would you choose to come to Him (Matt. 11:28-30), and then, moment by moment, from encounter to encounter, choose to stay (John 15)?

Leave a Reply

