Are you tired?

I am… tired that is.  I wonder if you find yourself feeling the same sentiment.  Perhaps you’re on a journey, and you’re waiting…  Perhaps you have begun a new chapter in your life, complete with adjustments, excitement, and all sorts of other emotions taking you on a roller coaster ride, leaving you…tired.  Perhaps you are living full summer days complete with activities that are fun, yet cut into time used to spent in sleep, leaving you…tired.

I was contemplating this issue of tiredness while running this morning.  Feeling a bit under the weather, thinking about all those miles yet to come on my road to race day in October, I just had the urge to… stop.  Perhaps the humidity factor is one that seemed to rub my last nerve this morning, yet either way, the temptation to simply stop was pretty fierce.  My next thoughts seem to flow like this…  How much more tempting is it on the way to our “Octobers” to simply want to quit for the day?  I mean, come on, no one will know, what harm is one day on the journey?  The list of justification was quite long, quite logical, quite convincing… and yet…  I had made a commitment.

So what do we do in these moments?  What do we do when the urge to quit is simply so strong, perhaps not quit the whole commitment, yet just for one day.  We know, yet in the moment, it’s just so appealing.  Quitting once, makes the next day that much harder to push through, not easier.  My experience tells me, come “October”, it’s in these hard training days that the benefits pay off in huge rewards.  Most importantly, it’s in the “hard” that I know where my beliefs and my faith fall.  My faith is not in myself.  Left to myself, I will fail, I will quit, I’m just not that strong.  Placing myself in God’s strength, I am victorious every time!

Perhaps today, like me, you too feel tired.  Perhaps today, it’s a reminder for us to look up.  Did I complete my run this morning?  Yep.  Was it fun?  Nope.  Am I glad that I endured?  Every time.  Was it because I am a superwoman?  Absolutely not.  I’m a sick, tired, wondering how in the world I’m going to complete 26 miles, when I can barely finish 5, type of person today.  I didn’t.  I asked God to help me.  We talked.  I was distracted.  Before I knew it, my house was just around a corner.  Today was accomplished, tomorrow I will ask for help again.  The rest of the day will follow one step at a time… and my heart is free.  Will you look up today?

2Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.   Hebrews 12

Leave a Reply

