Fall at His feet…

I just love summer time.  I enjoy all that it affords – great family events, more times to say “yes” than “no”, times to simply talk without rushing, times for just laughing in the sun.  Last evening, I had a chance to catch up with a friend by going for a walk.  This friend is such a gift, such a treasure.  She is my hero is so many ways.  She is an example of one who could have looked at life’s circumstances, and said “Lord, I’m out”.  No one would have blamed her.  But she didn’t, and no one would know this about this sweet, gentle soul, unless you ask.  She loves to talk about her Savior.  In fact, she wrote a book, and it’s fantastic.  It covers a topic that hits home with so many of us… contentment.  This book walks you through scriptures, inspires you to reflect on the journey, and even leaves room for your thoughts.  Fabulous for a personal study or in a group setting as well, click here to check it out!  Thank you Robyn Joy!

As we enjoyed our evening walk, I decided to take our pup along as well.  He’s not quite as small as he used to be, but oh my what a tremendous gift he is (and I wouldn’t even consider myself to fit into the “dog person” category.)  For some strange, and odd reason, he and I just click.  As many of you know, weather here has been just slightly warm, so our evening walk still hovered in the high 80’s I believe.  When we returned, I could pretty well predict his actions.  After several laps of water, one of his favorite places to crash is on the cool tile floor in the kitchen.  Though, this evening, he crashed in a not-so-usual-kitchen-tile spot.  I decided to pull out my kitchen stool, and sit down to check email, but before I could even sit, I heard a “plop!!” and felt warm fur on my toes.  He had decided to crash right by my feet, content and peaceful.

Somehow I found myself thinkin about this as I ran this morning.  When was the last time I just plopped down at my Father’s feet?  Was it after a time of complete exhaustion and frustration, perhaps how something didn’t go my way?  When I had exhausted all other possibilities and was left with disappointment?  Was it out of sheer desperation because I had gone my own way and was now pouting, whining, and complaining?  When was the last time I simply lay at my Father’s feet, content and peaceful?  He doesn’t want us to wait until we have ourselves all together, he just wants us to come just as we are… to Him first.

  • Matthew 11:29,30
    Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.
    For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
  • Hosea 11:4
    I led them with cords of human kindness, with ties of love; I lifted the yoke from their neck and bent down to feed them.

    As I continued to run, simply with joy, the Lord even blessed me with song after song that literally rang out this theme – “Come to me.  Give me everything.  Trust me.  I have so much to share.”  I believe He so personally wove all these seemingly insignificant details together…just because.  He didn’t have to, but He chose to.  He gave me a reminder and such a picture of peaceful surrender… through a dog.  A dog that might not have been in our home had I said no.  One decision of obedience leads to so many mighty miracles that happen right in front of my eyes… because I’ve prayed and asked to see.  This is not just something reserved for the “special Christians”, this is what is available to ALL people, even you.  In my experience, it didn’t happen overnight, I couldn’t muster up enough strength to will it to happen, to have that relationship with Him that I saw other people had – His voice has always been there, I just haven’t been able to hear it, too much clutter, too much busyness, too much talking on my part.  Today I encourage you to “do” that which appears a bit crazy to you.  Stop and talk with your Father.  Ask him to open your eyes to His word as you read.  Watch and listen.  He is at work all around you, preparing you, guiding you, speaking through His creation and His children.  Buckle up and enjoy the ride!  Most of all, don’t forget to share!

    One thought on “Fall at His feet…

    1. Heather, your such an amazing beautiful person! Thank you for sharing. I love what God teaches us through the simplest little things.

    Leave a Reply

    