A daunting task

Do you find yourself facing a daunting task this morning?  Perhaps the fun-filled weekend has you thinking about enjoyable activities, perhaps a break from daunting tasks, but we all know weekends come to end, sadly enough.  Perhaps it the Lord who is nudging you to think about a daunting task, perhaps one that is WAY out of your comfort zone, perhaps one that seems utterly crazy – one that you find yourself scoffing at – uhhhhh, not me Lord, in fact, I can name you  ten other people who would be a great fit for this task.   You are not alone.  In fact, the bible is chock-full of several.  One who makes the top of the list is one I can’t wait to sit and enjoy some sweet tea with in heaven… my comrade, Moses (read for it yourself in Exodus, Ch. 2-24).

The Lord has asked me to join Him on a 26.2 run on Oct. 17th.  However, this is not quite the daunting task, it’s the 567 miles that will be run in training over the next 16 weeks that will occur prior to that.  Overwhelming?  Looking at the numbers this way, oh yeah.  To have the perspective of taking one training run at a time, not so much.  Over the past four years, I’ve had an opportunity to experience many uphills and several downhills.  As Paul states in Philippians, “I have learned” to simply enjoy the ride, and that it is.  The race is actually the culmination of the training well completed.  Easy? nope.  What I have learned is that the blessings of obedience are worth it every time.

What is your daunting task?  What do you feel challenged by today?  Is it in the realm of “craziness”?  From one who is as practical and conservative as they come, the crazier the better, for it is through this opportunities we realize what He can accomplish simply through our willingness. 

Exodus 15:2
The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

Exodus 15:13
“In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.

Deuteronomy 6:5
Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.

In this training of life, how do we spend our days leading up to the culmination of the beginning of our eternal race?  Have we pursued our daily tasks with a servant attitude, simply thankful for the ability to accomplish it?  Obeying in the small tasks that lead to our eternal rewards?  Will we change that 100th diaper with joy?  Will we grocery job for our aging parent/grandparent with joy?  Will we mop up the floor after our children/pets for the third time today with joy?  Will we change the empty toilet paper roll that no one else changes…again?  He sees all.  He loves us knowing our lifetime of faults and flaws.  He wants to be not only a part, but the King of our lives.  He wants us to walk with him, he has so much to share….

Will you complete your daunting task today?  With joy?

1 Chronicles 29:17
I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things have I given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you.

Leave a Reply

