A sweet treat

It’s summertime – whoohoo!  My favorite time of year!  Kids are done with school, pool is open, a little more sleep (yeah right), nothin like it.  Since the weather was a bit cooler today, the kids and I decided to take Wubzzy for a long walk this afternoon.  I’ve learned that if the kids jump on their bikes and I jog with the dog, we can stay together pretty well, so that was the plan!

Everything was going well with said plan.  No falls, no injuries, even our little Bassett was able to keep pretty good time with his short legs.  We were rounding the last corner, heading for home, the littlest one and I were a little behind, so as the oldest two came into sight – my heart dropped.  There in eyesight, the kids were stopped on the sidewalk.  In front of them stood a policeman.  He was talking and he was speaking to them while writing on a clipboard – yikes!  Have to confess, my mind went to the list of possible mistakes.  Did they cross the street without looking, did they insult someone, did they get injured – WHAT HAPPENED?!

Needless to say, I approached with caution.  As I was nearing, the officer had a smile on his face….okay, this is a good thing… I think.  He says, “Just talking with the kids about the importance of wearing a bike helmet.  Because they each have one on, I’d like to give them this gift certificate for a free blizzard at Dairy Queen.”  Whhhhaaaaat?  How awesome!  Funny thing is, 2 of the 3 complained about having to put one on before we left, one begrudging resigned at the last minute, ahem, the oldest!  Guess who was grinning the largest?

I just couldn’t help but think about the great feeling that comes from being rewarded for obeying the rules.  Literally, out of the blue, completely unexpected, there is a reward that drops into your hand.  I see this as such a great God lesson.  God wants to bless us for our obedience.  He gave that to the kids today (and us!), great way to start off the summer.  I think it might even help emphasis the need for seat beat wearing as well – bonus!  Have a great start to your summer!

Matthew 7:11
If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!

3 thoughts on “A sweet treat

    • What a great lesson for the kids to learn. I love it when we see our children rewarded for their obedience. Sounds like the summer is off to a great start. Things are going well here. Today is Abby’s first day off of school so we are ready for whatever summer adventure comes our way. Enjoy the time with your little ones and I look forward to seeing your when BSF resumes this fall.

Leave a Reply

