Stop and smell the peonies

Do you have a peonies plant in your yard?  Perhaps you have viewed these blooms in your neighbors’ yard or even around town.  They are simply gorgeous, and I love the variety of colors that God has given them.  Knowing they only bloom for a short season, I wanted to bring them inside to enjoy them for as long as they will allow.  I just love flowers.  Ask my children, they know.  Often times, I’m graced with a variety of weed flower bouquets wherever they can be found for the pickin, and I cherish them for as long as I can. Why do my children pick them?  They know I delight in them and they simply want to please me.

Psalm 111:2
Great are the works of the LORD; they are pondered by all who delight in them.

I noticed two things about the peonies bouquets.  1)  They simply brightened up the room, and 2) they added a pleasant aroma to the air.

My question today is two-fold – Do we brighten up a room?  Do we add a pleasant aroma to the situations we frequent in our days?

2 Corinthians 2:15
For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.

Humbling thought for today.  May we go forth with the pleasant smell of Christ wafting to all those around us, and Lord forgive us when we do not.  May we confess, change our smell, and go forth in your fragrance today!

One thought on “Stop and smell the peonies

Leave a Reply

