Precious girl…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On May 15, 2003, our precious second child and first daughter entered the world (11:44 p.m. to be exact).  We moms have a certain pride in these birth facts!  In keeping with tradition in the Conrad home, we gather in remembrance of the thoughts, feelings, and events of that special day.  In fact, our oldest (and statistically minded may I add), will even correct me least I should be incorrect with any said information, as he’s now heard this story 7 times.  Why do we stop and remember?  I think perhaps there’s something traditional about oral story-telling.  There’s something special about choosing to talk about the “markers” in our life.  This particular marker is one of prime importance.  Why?  This is the day the Lord ordained for a life to begin.  A life chosen, a gift given, a present received. 

Psalm 139:12-14  

 13 For you created my inmost being;
       you knit me together in my mother’s womb. 

 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
       your works are wonderful,
       I know that full well. 

 In similar fashion, our brith”day” celebrations here seem to last the entire week.  How about you?  Between the actual day with special meals, and the bring-into-school-treats, and the friend party, and the family party, and the church family party, and sometimes even a second family party, we live it up.  In honor of Emma’s special day, I simply wanted to journal some of the most special qualities I appreciate about her.  Emma, Momma loves you precious girl, thank you for giving me the honor of this title. 

  1. I appreciate your smile every morning.
  2. I cherish the worship songs that pop into your head first thing in the morning.
  3. Listening to your morning prayers just blesses the socks off me.  Your tender and compassionate heart teaches me much.
  4. You simply love.
  5. Your ability to create stories and sketch them onto paper is a true gift.
  6. Your focus and determination is a strength.
  7. You try your best at everything you attempt.
  8. You know how to be a friend.
  9. You thank me several times a day, without a reminder.
  10. You have a zest for life, live it up brave girl!

We love you sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

