The desires of your heart

Last evening and this morning, I got to spend some time with God. I was ushered into his presence by worship leader Travis Cottrell and spoken to by His servant Beth Moore, all through the miracles of technology. I was able to take part in an event hosted in Green Bay by simply traveling 10 minutes away and paying a minimal cost. They were such precious moments with Him. I thank my husband for simply being the best father and most supportive teammate. The kids were bursting with stories of what they “did” together when I returned.

Just wanted to share with you today a few points to ponder as we took a deeper look at Psalm 37, more specifically verse 4. Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.

1. Nothing dictates our lives like our desires.

2. Beneath the desires of our heart, is the heart of our desires.

3. Delighting in God adapts our desires into inevitabilities.

4. Nothing external can steal our right to delight.

5. To make room for delight, we’ve got to commit.

6. Nothing is passive about patiently waiting for desire to turn into delight.

7. Till faith becomes sight, trust God and do good (good, not right).

Under point number 4, Beth asked us, “What’s taking a bite out of your personal delight?” She offered an acrostic – our JAW – jealously, anger, worry. Wow, lots to chew on there, no pun intended.

Basically, God gave me time to meet with Him today, in many unexpected ways. I went by myself (all in His plan), I came with some “issues” (all in my doing), and I sat with eyes-wide open, coming face to face with some of my uglies. I had a choice to make, face it or run. I think I’ll leave the runnin for tomorrow. Because of his abundant grace and his overflowing mercy, I became unglued. My prayer lately: Lord, unsettle me. He answered. In fact, he prodded me to scooch over in the pew and reach out to the stranger next to me. I must have said no at least five times, and before I knew it, I had physically moved and my mouth was moving. Through this precious woman, I stepped out of my selfish, self-centered state to reach out for a moment, and I met Him right there, through the bluest, most honest eyes I’ve ever seen. Thank you Jesus. Thank you Carol.

For more information about Living Proof Ministries, check out the link to the right (Beth Moore), it’s chock-full of great stuff, including a Texas sheetcake recipe that’s been all the rave. Have a fabulous Sunday with Him tomorrow, I can’t wait to run along the river and drink in his goodness tomorrow morning alongside my life partner. Until next time…

Leave a Reply

